From the Beginning
The origins of the Scots Kirk Lausanne go back to 1876, when the Reverend A.F. Buscarlet of the Scots Kirk, Naples, was invited to come over from Montreux, where he was acting as seasonal chaplain. He soon became the first minister of a permanent Scottish church in Lausanne and raised funds to erect a building.
Viollet-le-Duc, the renowned French architect drew up the plans for the only new church he designed outside France — the Scots Kirk. The sanctuary was dedicated in 1877.
Stained Glass & Tapestry
Bernard Viglino of Chavornay created the three stained glass windows in the chancel which were donated by members of the congregation and dedicated in April 1971. Rose window and lancet window on the right Given by Bruce Sutherland, a long-serving elder and Session Clerk of the church, in memory of his wife and son.